MOCAAPI Royal Gala donates $ 15,000 to support FoodBank

Dec 17, 2010

The Members of MOCAAPI had their Annual General Body Meeting today at the Mansion on the Plaza in Brick, NJ. More than 80 physicians and their spouses attended the event. MOCAAPI presented a check of $ 15,000 to the representatives of the FoodBank as part of their ongoing commitment to the local community. The money was raised as the part of their annual gala- "The Royal Gala 2010" which was on October 10th at the Shadowbrook in Shrewsbury. This was a second year in a row that the group supported the same charity and they have more than doubled their contribution from the last year.

Linda Keenan, Director of Development at FoodBank, thanked the group and educated the audience about all the wonderful service FoodBank is providing to fight hunger in the area. These are tough economic times for several families and there have been times, she recalls, when the past donors have ended up being the recipients of help themselves in a crisis. Susan Kelly, the Executive Director, was also present to personally thank everybody.

The evening also saw a very concise and informative presentation by Dr. Doug Livornese on Medical Complications of Sleep apnea. Dr. Anil Gupta then gave an overview of the activities of MOCAAPI over the past two years during his tenure. The group had two very successful golf outings to add more than $ 27,000 to the charitable funds of MOCAAPI. This was in addition to the $ 22,000 the group was able to donate out of the two annual galas to the FoodBank. The group had nine educational meetings for its members to fulfill its educational commitment. As part of a community building effort, two family picnics were organized during the summers which were very well attended. Particularly the last one which was attended by members of all communities. Dr. Akshay Patel led the efforts and conducted six free health screening camps over the period to help more than 500 patients. MOCAAPI also redesigned its website to take up the look of its parent organization AAPI. The phase two of the upgrade was just completed this week. Now members can login and edit their own profiles along with several added functionalities for an enhanced user experience. An electronic monthly newsletter was also started in July this year which has improved communication. Dr. Gupta then thanked all the members for giving him the opportunity and the support over the past two years and welcomed the new officers of MOCAAPI.

The Chief Guest for the evening was Dr. Sunita Kanumury, the President elect of the National AAPI. She informed the members about the several wonderful programs AAPI is putting out for the members and encouraged particularly the younger physicians to get involved and join AAPI in its mission. She also invited everybody to be the part of the upcoming Indo-US Healthcare summit in Jaipur, India in January 2011 and the AAPI annual convention in New York City in June followed by the AAPI Cruise to Alaska in July/August.

To end the evening, Dr. Sripad Dhawlikar announced the incoming officers of MOCAAPI for the years 2011 and 2012. Dr. Sumul Raval was appointed the President and Dr. Dharam Mann would take over as the Vice President. Dr. Tarun Bhandari becomes the Secretary along with Dr. Vikram Varma to be the Treasurer. In the absence of Dr. Raval, Dr. Mann thanked the nomination committee and the members.

Here is link to the media coverage
Desi talk

Front row (left to right): Dr. Vinod Sancheti (Past President), Mrs. Sangita Sancheti, Dr. Sunita Kanumury (President-Elect National AAPI), Susan Kelly (Executive Director-Food Bank), Dr. Anil Gupta (President-MOCAAPI & Regional Director National AAPI), Mrs. Jyoti Gupta, Mrs. Archana Sharma (Gala Chair)
Back row (left to right): Linda Keenan (Director Development-FoodBank), Dr. Sripad Dhawlikar (Past President), Dr. Sunita Dhawlikar, Dr. Chak Prakash (Editor Souvenir Journal) and Mrs. Usha Prakash

You may not have everything you need to view certain sections of this website. Please download and install the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.